Nets Making A Big Splash In Brooklyn

Joe Johnson Thinks the Nets can be a playoff team this season he was excited about the teams chances at the Brooklyn Nets Media day.

So we just have to put it together, come together as one. Sky’s the limit for us, honestly. …Hopefully we could jell a lot faster than what people expect. I think we have a chance to win the whole thing this year. I’m not just saying it. I honestly believe it. …Yeah, definitely (we can beat the Heat and Lakers). You have to go through these teams to win, right? I’m not sugar coating anything. We understand Miami is the favorites. Nobody is picking us to win anything. We understand that. I think hard work is definitely going to pay off.”

Josh Childress: “Why not? I think the potential is a championship. We have a very versatile team that top to bottom is very versatile, very deep. And that’s the type of things you look for in a championship-contending team. I think that’s a viable statement by Joe.”

Jerry Stackhouse: “I think we stack up equal to the team that I went to the finals with in Dallas in 2006, if not better, depth-wise. But it’s never about what’s on paper. Every year you see teams that surprise you, teams that you think are going to do better than they do. But it starts tomorrow. And I think when you have guys buy into how we want to play, being unselfish and giving themselves on the defensive end, we’ll live with results. I don’t know what that translates to, whether it’s 50 wins, but I always think 50 wins is a sign of a good team that has a chance to do some damage in the playoffs.”

Avery Johnson: “Where we are now, the goal is to Win a championship. That’s the goal. At the end of the day, that’s what we play for. I couldn’t say that about the teams the last two years. I couldn’t say that on any level. But the goal is to win a championship.”

Deron Williams: “I think we can special. I think we can be a great group. I think we are going to be a great team. We have the right group of youth and veterans. Guys are not really worried about contract situations. We could just go out and play basketball.  I think guys are at the point of their careers where they don’t care about statistics, they just care about basketball. That’s what you have to do to win a championship.

The Nets have a new home and beginning Brooklyn and are looking forward to the challenge.

Oct 1st 2012

Ed Rivera

for pics of Media Day go to www.mgnmedia.org

Leave a Reply

